Week 22 – Day 4

I was talking to a colleague at lunch today who has a friend who’s also pregnant. She commented on the fact that I’ve booked a trip to Ireland in September, asking if I’m not worried about stuff going wrong. Got me thinking a bit about attitude. She said her friend is panicking and worrying about everything and anything that could potentially happen, even though it hasn’t happened yet.

I know I’m quite an optimistic person by nature, sometimes over optimistic. But it hasn’t really crossed my mind to plan for things as if though it wouldn’t work. What would be the point in that? Some people have the mindset of “everything that can go wrong will go wrong” with the goal to have a plan of action when the bad stuff happens. Maybe I’m naive or unprepared, but I’m pretty sure IF anything was to not go according to plan, I could handle it when it happens. It doesn’t make sense to me to walk around worrying about all the potential horrors of pregnancy… cause what if they DON’T happen? Then I would have worried for nothing, and not enjoyed the times that did go well.

Is it just me? I mean, I’m a firm believer in planning in general and to be prepared for the baby. And I’m very much aware that things may not be this easy in a month, or two or three…. but as long as it’s all good, it’s all good right?

Leave a Reply

